Yachats, Oregon (pronounced YAH-hahts) is called the “Gem of the Oregon Coast” for its ideal location along the Central Oregon Coast. Nestled below the towering Cape Perpetua, Yachats offers visitors both rocky and sand beaches to explore. The rocky shores create tidepools, where visitors find an abundance of sea creatures from sea stars, see urchins, fish, crabs and more. Just off shore, whales, porpoise, and seals swim, viewable from the shoreline.
According to Oregon Geographic Names, the name comes from the Siletz language, and means "at the foot of the mountain." Archaeological studies have shown that the Yachats area has been inhabited for at least 1,500 years.
The Little Log Church and Museum, built in 1926, originally served as an Evangelical Church and later as a Presbyterian Church. Today it is owned and managed by the City of Yachats and houses a large collection of local historical artifacts. It is also a popular venue for weddings, memorials, concerts, and fine arts exhibits. Each Valentine's Day, a wedding vow renewal ceremony, open to any couple, is held there.
The North Fork of the Yachats Bridge is a covered bridge located in the Yachats River Valley, about nine miles (14.5 km) east of Yachats. It was completed, at a cost of $1,500, in 1938 and was the last bridge of veteran bridge builder Otis Hamer. It features the Queen-post truss style found in few covered bridges today and has ribbon openings under the roof to provide light to the bridge's center. Its span is 42 feet (13 m) long, making it one of the shortest covered bridges in the Pacific Northwest.
Yachats is on many "Top 10 Lists" including; Budget Travel magazine's "Ten Coolest Small Towns of the U.S.A., and VirtualTourist.com.'s top 10 U.S. vacation destinations.